I Need Your Opinion

I was talking with an event planner client of mine and she was talking about how she wished there was a place online for meeting planners, event planners and more to talk to each other and bounce ideas off one another in addition to getting real world advice.  She commented that the industry is really very fragmented and that it would be great to have an online forum for industry pros.  I think she is absolutely right, in fact it is something I have been thinking about for a very long time before she mentioned it to me and I even contemplated launching an online event and meeting industry forum myself that would cater strictly to professionals with limited supplier ads and great content provided by all the members.

My big problem is that I think that people are so busy that no one would bother to join and worse yet, they would join and never return to generate the conversations needed to fill the online forum.  These days people have so many options with Facebook, Linkedin and more.  That said, I need your opinion.  Let me know what you think about this idea.  Keep in mind it would be about helping each other out and building a real community by providing valuable advice to each other through an online forum. It would be open to anyone in a professional position that involves event planning, special events, conventions, trade shows, and more.   It would NOT be a place for suppliers to blatantly promote their services.  In fact, we would probably limit supplier members.

I look forward to hearing your responses.

Joshua Gair – Impact Entertainment Services

www.impactentertains.com

Leave a Reply

